top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJan Kather

Analog Digital Analog Digital

Updated: Jun 13, 2020


Although I navigate the digital world daily, I am still drawn to traditional art making where I use pre-digital skills to create real world objects. This digital video titled "Virtual Landscapes" is a recording of a favorite analog activity that I learned when I was maybe eight years old: embroidery on cloth. The first things I made were embellishing tea towels and baby bibs!


The cloth I am embroidering in this video was printed with a digital image that I am "painting around" with needle and thread. The digital image comes from a digital photo of a watercolor (analog!) sketch painted several summers ago along the Lackawanna Rail Trail. I think this is the end of the line - how would I turn this digital video into an analog expression?

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page