top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJan Kather

Christo Dies at 84

Updated: Jun 13, 2020

Artist Who Wrapped and Festooned on an Epic Scale, Dies at 84

Mountains, museums, bridges and Central Park were just some of what he used to make astonishing and popular art with his wife and collaborator, Jeanne-Claude.


It was shocking to learn of the death of Christo on Sunday, May 31, 2020, as I had been thinking a lot about The Gates in Central Park in relation to the work I've been creating. Below is one of the photos that I took on the last day the Gates were in Central Park. Driving from Elmira, I arrived just before sunset. I have made a link to a gallery of images on Facebook here and on the gallery page of this website, not as works of art, but as a record of my experience.

Central Park, February 27, 2005

Sunny and no snow in the forecast, I left Elmira, NY, late Sunday morning and arrived in Harlem just before sunset. The light was perfect. Every person had a camera! By chance, Albert Maysles was shooting some documentary footage and stopped to talk with us. As darkness fell, I headed back to Elmira, knowing the curtains would be taken down the next day. It was a whirlwind trip, but worth every minute of the long slog of a drive.




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page