top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJan Kather

The "Destination Selfie"

Updated: Jul 1, 2020


Today David and I installed the first round of art work in the SoAG gallery window, with the help of my son Aaron who wielded the drill like a pro, and adjusted lights to spotlight individual pieces. While outside on the sidewalk communicating to Aaron and David with animated gestures that said, "Move it to the left, up, no down, just a bit more," I noticed the most marvelous window reflections and spent some time creating in-camera photo collages of the colors and shapes of the art inside and the buildings across the street. It reminded me of the fad of taking "destination selfies" where places like the Museum of Ice Cream or Yayoi Kusama's Infinity Room created environments for people to visit and share selfies on Instagram. I hope some visitors will do that with this window installation! Let me know if you do!


I posted our pre-event announcement on Facebook using my reflection photos. If you can't get to Ithaca to see the installation, take a look at the Facebook photos here.


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page