top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJan Kather

Silicon Valet


I was reading the New Yorker at some point of isolation in May, when I came across a short article about a new digital initiative titled Silicon Valet. The online site is self described as follows:

Silicon Valet is a new parking lot for digital art and expanded practice. We are a virtual gallery and online exhibition space featuring a digital artist residency.


It seems COVID19 stay-at-home regulations sent a lot of people to experiment with the old stand-bys - creating gifs, video game imagery, and 60s op art in motion. I had already been making gifs of some of my work, so this seemed a natural path to follow while building our online exhibit.


I was quite entertained, in a vacuous, pandemic kind of of way. This fit my purposes, too. Our online exhibit was not an replica of some show hanging on gallery walls, but an expression born online.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page